Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion

Young people excel at Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards


Minister for Youth Tony Piccolo will tonight congratulate 124 recipients of the Duke of Edinburgh's Silver and Bronze Awards, as part of the 51st anniversary of the program in Australia.

"Each year, Duke of Edinburgh Award participants undertake an incredible variety of activities," Mr Piccolo said.

"As a result of their endeavours, they gain new opportunities, a sense of achievement and greater self-confidence, as well as building valuable friendships.

"These young South Australians, including 50 silver and 74 bronze award recipients, are to be congratulated for undertaking this personal challenge.

"The Award program covers activities in physical recreation, skill development and volunteering and, as always, the programs have been many and varied.

"Recipients have undertaken Pedal Prix training, rowed in the Head of the River final or participated in horse riding, while others have volunteered with the Country Fire Service, at Monarto Zoo or Surf Life Saving.

"Their journeys for this award have taken them to areas as magnificent as the Grampians, the Murray River and the Flinders Ranges."

Mr Piccolo said this year's award recipients come from across South Australia, with participants from Eyre Peninsula and the Riverland involved this year.

"Tonight's ceremony at the Italian Centre in Carrington Street in the city recognises and celebrates their achievements," he said.

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award is an international program for young people aged between 14 and 25, with more than 120 countries and more than six million participants having already completed the award.

For more information on the program in South Australia visit

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
16 Oct 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016