Department of Human Services

Start of main content.

Acknowledgement of Country

We, the Department of Human Services (DHS), acknowledge and respect Aboriginal peoples as South Australia’s First Peoples and the Traditional Owners and occupants of lands and waters of South Australia. We respect and celebrate the varied cultural and spiritual identities of Aboriginal communities.

Aboriginal people have the right to live free from discrimination of any kind, and to exercise and enjoy their rights to family and culture in accordance with the principles of the United Nations Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Terminology statement

The term Aboriginal has been used throughout this document to reference all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. DHS acknowledges and respects this preference of the South Australian Aboriginal community in written and spoken language.

Page last updated : 06 Dec 2021

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .[sm v5.5.6.6]