Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department of Human Services

Disability Access and Inclusion Plan development and implementation

The DHS Disability Access and Inclusion Plan Intra-Department Steering Committee was established to implement the DAIP initiative within this Department. The committee met regularly during the life of the project and was chaired by the Executive Director of Disability SA, Dr David Caudrey. All DHS  business areas and the DHS Disability Employment Community of Practice were represented on this committee.

The group provided guidance and advice to the project to ensure that it was developed in accordance with the decisions of the across-government steering committee and reflected current reforms and South Australian priorities. Each DHS business area identified actions through a range of processes and developed their own DAIPs. Key strategic actions from these individual plans have been included in the DHS DAIP.

Overall responsibility for the implementation of the DHS DAIP rests with the Chief Executive. Responsibility for specific actions may be delegated to executive directors and directors of the business areas specified in the plan.

The DHS DAIP has been lodged with the Australian Human Rights Commission. In accordance with the Department of the Premier and Cabinet Circular PCO13, DHS will report on implementation of the plan in annual reports.


DHS would like to thank everyone who has contributed to the development of the DAIP, in particular the members of the across-government and intra-department DAIP steering committees, the SA Disability Register, the Housing SA focus group, and the many other people who provided valuable and insightful input during the process.


Disability SA
Phone: +61 8 8415 4250
Postal mail: Disability Inclusion, NDIS Reform, Disability SA, PO Box 70, Rundle Mall, Adelaide SA 5000

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS [sm v5.4.7.1] .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
18 Feb 2019
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016