Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department of Human Services

Nominations for the 2014 State Volunteer Awards now open


Nominations are now open for the 2014 State Volunteer Awards which recognise individuals, community groups and businesses making an outstanding contribution to South Australia.

Volunteers Minister Zoe Bettison said the awards play an important role in highlighting the good work undertaken by South Australian volunteers.

"South Australia is very fortunate to have one of the highest rates of volunteer participation in Australia," Ms Bettison said.

"Each year more than 900,000 South Australians volunteer their time and skills to help others.

"Volunteering can mean many different things - from helping a neighbour with the grocery shopping to supporting emergency services efforts.

"These prestigious awards recognise and celebrate the extraordinary efforts of our volunteers.

"I encourage people to nominate individuals, businesses or community groups that have made a strong contribution to volunteering here in South Australia".

Award categories include:

  • Joy Noble Medal — South Australia's highest award recognising the outstanding efforts of an individual volunteer within the state
  • 'The Andamooka' Community Project Award — recognises community projects where the contribution of volunteers has resulted in significant community benefit
  • Premier's Award for Corporate Social Responsibility — acknowledges the invaluable contribution of South Australian businesses to the community through philanthropy, partnership and volunteer programs.

Nominations close on Friday, 9 May, 2014, with the winners to be announced at a Volunteers Day event, Monday 9 June, 2014, at the Festival Theatre.

Guidelines and online application forms are available from the Office for Volunteers website at For further information contact the Office for Volunteers on 1300 014 712.

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
13 Dec 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016