Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department of Human Services

Young Achiever Awards recognise outstanding young people in SA


Youth Minister Zoe Bettison is calling for nominations for the 2016 Channel Nine Young Achiever Awards which opened today.

Ms Bettison said the Young Achiever Awards are an opportunity to encourage, acknowledge and reward young South Australians for their positive contributions to communities throughout the state.

"The broad award categories mean that young people from a diverse range of backgrounds, areas and communities have an opportunity to be recognised for their contributions," Ms Bettison said.

"The State Government has a long and proud history of supporting the awards program, having sponsored the Aboriginal Achievement Award since 2004."

The Office for Youth Aboriginal Achievement Award is open to all young Aboriginal people aged 14-29 and it recognises contributions made to Aboriginal communities or society more broadly.

"The award also acknowledges the barriers young Aboriginal people face and overcome, and celebrates leadership and cultural achievements," she said.

"The Aboriginal Achievement Award gives young Aboriginal people the opportunity to share their stories and life experiences around building up their communities.

"Through sharing their stories, these passionate and dedicated young people encourage others to strive for their dreams and subsequently make a real difference to South Australia."

Last year's award winner, 25-year-old Jessica Wishart of Christie Downs, works full time as the Aboriginal Education Worker at Christies Beach High School.

She is also a role model for young Aboriginal women and an advocate for creating strong cultural connections.

Nominations for the awards are open until Friday, 4 December, 2015. Winners will be announced at a gala presentation dinner at the Hilton Adelaide on Saturday 12 March 2016.

For more information about the Channel 9 Young Achiever Awards, or to submit a nomination, visit

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
14 Dec 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016