Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department of Human Services

State wide disaster assistance for South Australia following severe September storm


The Hon Michael Keenan MP Minister for Justice Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter-Terrorism

The Hon Zoe Bettison MP

South Australian Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion


Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and South Australian Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion Zoe Bettison today announced disaster recovery funding for South Australia in response to the heavy rainfall and severe storm on 28 September 2016.

Minister Keenan said the Australian Government is working closely together with South Australia to support affected communities.

“Under the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA) we are ensuring local communities have the assistance they need to recover from the devastating impacts of these storms,” Mr Keenan said.

Ms Bettison said assistance is available to support people who are suffering personal hardship, as well as funding for local councils to help with the cost of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets.

“Anyone who has been affected by the storms and is in need of support should contact the South Australian recovery hotline on 1800 302 787,” Ms Bettison said.

“Funding is also available to local councils so that they can clean-up after the storms and undertake repairs to damaged public infrastructure as soon as possible.”

NDRRA assistance measures have been activated across the twenty nine (29) local government areas of Adelaide Hills, Alexandrina, Barossa, Barunga West, Ceduna, Clare and Gilbert Valleys, Cleve, Elliston, Flinders Ranges, Franklin Harbour, Gawler, Goyder, Kimba, Light Regional, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Adelaide Plains, Mount Remarkable, Northern Areas, Orroroo Carrieton, Peterborough, Playford, Port Pirie, Port Lincoln, Roxby Downs, Streaky Bay, Tumby Bay, Wakefield, Whyalla and Wudinna.

Information regarding the assistance available in each local government area can be found on the Government of South Australia website at and on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at

Media contacts:

Minister Keenan: Emily Broadbent, 0400 390 008 or Jacqueline Byrde 0418 228 407

Minister Bettison: Jason Gillick 0417 152 137

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
16 Dec 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016