Department of Human Services

Start of main content.

Nominations now open for the 2022 Inspiring SA Women’s Awards

The 2022 Inspiring South Australian Women’s Awards will honour the most influential and inspiring women who contribute to community life in two different categories.

Minister for Human Services Michelle Lensink said this award is an opportunity to acknowledge and thank women in the community who are leading the change and inspiring future generations.

“These women are a real inspiration to both present and future generations of girls, looking up to empowered women of all backgrounds who are leading innovation, change and growth in South Australian’s economy and civic life."

Current and emerging leaders

We encourage everyone to participate by nominating women who are either emerging leaders in their communities or women working or volunteering in areas including:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander initiatives
  • arts and the media
  • disability
  • education
  • health
  • science and medicine
  • sport and recreation, and
  • the prevention of violence.

Jan Chorley, CEO, Australia Day Council of South Australia said the Inspiring South Australian Women’s Awards give us all the opportunity to nominate the women who are heroes in our own world.

“The beauty of these awards is that anyone befitting the criteria is eligible.  We just need to take the time to think about those special women that are a part of our every day and their selfless contributions that benefit others,” said Jan Chorley.

Two different categories

The Inspiring South Australian Women’s Awards recognise outstanding women who have made a significant contribution to the community.

This edition will include two different categories:

  • the Inspiring SA Women’s Award will recognise an outstanding woman who has made a significant contribution to the community
  • the Emerging Leader’s Award will acknowledge an emerging leader in their chosen field or local community.

Eligibility and nominations

To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen and work and live in South Australia.

The Award is part of the Australia Day awards and honours and is jointly coordinated by the Office for Women from the Department of Human Services and the Australia Day Council of South Australia (ADCSA).

Nomination process comprises to answer five easy questions. Nominate today!

Deadline for nominations

Nominations close 31 October 2021.

Questions and assistance

The Australia Day Council of SA
Phone 8212 3999

Page last updated : 28 Oct 2021

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .[sm v5.5.6.6]