Department of Human Services

Start of main content.

Premier’s Council for Women to empower change

Driving more women into the workforce, advancing women’s economic security and empowering more women and girls into leadership positions is the new focus of a revitalised Premier’s Council for Women.

As South Australia emerges from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Council will, for the first time, focus on looking at how more women can achieve financial security and become leaders in a thriving state economy.

Women are crucial to our economy and therefore pivotal to South Australia’s recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.

When women are economically empowered, they are in the best place to lead, innovative, support, effect change and in turn, grow our economy.

The Premier’s Council for Women has welcomed six new members that boast a wealth of knowledge in business across a broad range of fields and experience.

The Council represents decades of experience, cultures and diversity and these new members will be pivotal in supporting future generations of South Australian women to meet their full potential.

The Council will also play a part in supporting the soon-to-be-released new South Australian Women’s Leadership and Economic Security Strategy 2021-24.

Thank you to outgoing members Miriam Silva, Lorna Hallahan, Anna Lee, Evelyn O’Loughlin, Laura Tyler and Vicky Welgraven for their time on the Council.

The Premier’s Council for Women welcomes the following new members:

Fiona Dorman (Chair)

Fiona is currently President of the National Council of Women SA and Deputy Chair of the Australia Day Council of SA.
She has an Honours degree in Anatomical Sciences and worked in the Life Sciences for over ten years, both in Australia and internationally. Fiona has been involved in the formation and development of numerous successful South Australian businesses and is a passionate advocate for women’s issues including gender equality and financial security.

Isobel Marshall

Isobel was recently named the 2021 Young Australian of the Year. She’s the co-founder and Managing Director of TABOO, a South Australian based social enterprise which sells ethically sourced, certified organic cotton pads and tampons, with 100 per cent of net profits donated to charity partner OneGirl. TABOO’s aim is to eradicate period poverty and challenge menstrual stigma world-wide.

Marli Smith

Marli has extensive experience in procurement and currently heads procurement at ASC Pty Ltd which is Australia’s largest locally owned defence prime contractor based in South Australia and Western Australia. Marli is a member of ASC’s diversity and inclusion council. She has also worked in procurement for Santos, OneSteel and other mining and resources companies.

Kelly Baker Jamieson

Kelly owns Edible Blooms, which began as a small business start-up in 2005 which has grown to employ more than 100 staff across Australia, New Zealand and the UK. Edible Blooms was named 2009 Telstra Small Business of the Year for Australia and in 2011 Kelly won the SA Telstra Business Woman of the Year.

Karen Briggs

Karen is a Yorta Yorta woman. Karen has a Bachelor of Design from the University of South Australia and a Diploma in Applied Design (Multimedia) from TAFE SA and runs her own business, KLB Creative. In her work as a graphic designer, Karen comes with well-established solid working relationships with Aboriginal Elders, Aboriginal community and other Aboriginal workers across Government.

Kirsty Mundy

Kirsty has over 25 years’ experience in the in the information technology industry, including 15 years working in regional Asia and Asia Pacific roles. While Adelaide based, she is currently working across Asia with Microsoft Consulting Services as their Sales Enablement Director and leads the diversity and inclusion council for Microsoft Asia. She has qualifications in arts, politics and legal studies from Flinders University and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
Ongoing Premier’s Council for Women members include Maria Hagias, Jane Danvers, Shingi Mapuvire, Nerida Saunders and Michelle Veitch.

Further appointments to the Council will be made to ensure members are representative of SA women.

Page last updated : 12 Aug 2021

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .[sm v5.5.6.6]