Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion

Applications open for 2013 YMCA Youth Parliament


Youth Minister Tony Piccolo is encouraging young South Australians aged 16-25 years to join in this year's YMCA Youth Parliament.
Applications close on 5 April for the popular event which will be held from 14 to 19 July 2013.
"Youth Parliament is a great opportunity for young people from across the State to learn about the political process," Mr Piccolo said.
"Young people are able to learn about the parliamentary system and have a voice on what is important to them, as well as develop their public speaking and leadership skills.

"Importantly, the Youth Parliament gives young people the opportunity to put their opinions and views directly to the Government. We will be listening carefully to what they say."
Young people can receive SACE accreditation for participation and recognition for activities contributing to the Duke of Edinburgh's Award.
Mr Piccolo said participants from across the State will take part in a six-day residential camp in Adelaide, including three sitting days at Parliament House.
"During the following months participants will learn about how Parliament operates, how to develop Bills and learn skills in public speaking and debating as well as learning how to work with the media," Mr Piccolo said.
"The Bills passed during Youth Parliament will then be formally presented to me, as the Minister for Youth."
The program is managed by the YMCA of South Australia and supported by the State Government through the Office for Youth.
More than 1,000 young people have participated in the annual program since its inception 18 years ago.
Interested young people can contact Rebecca Schaefer at the YMCA for further information on 8200 2500 or visit the YMCA website

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
16 Nov 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016