Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion

Empowering Aboriginal women


More than 40 Aboriginal women from across the state including regional and remote areas will come together over the next two days for this year's State Aboriginal Women's Gathering.

Minister for the Status of Women Gail Gago said the theme for the 2013 Gathering is 'Empowerment', and it will focus on participants furthering their knowledge and gaining the tools to empower themselves as Aboriginal women.

"This important event is an opportunity for Aboriginal women to share information and talk about issues affecting their lives in a culturally supportive environment," Ms Gago said.

"The theme this year is about gaining the tools, knowledge and confidence to 'ask the questions' and 'take up the challenges' on a daily basis.

"It's about building capacity as women, family members and members of the community, providing leadership, and encouraging those around us to be empowered."

Minister Gago said the program featured several inspirational speakers and a range of informative presentations and workshops.

"The delegate-elected working group and the Office for Women have worked together to prepare an informative and inspiring program for 2013," Ms Gago said.

"Participants at the Gathering will hear from Kaylene O'Loughlin, recipient of the 2013 SA NAIDOC Award for Female Elder of the Year, who will share her empowerment journey.

"The South Australian Commissioner for Equal Opportunity, Anne Gale will also speak about the National Anti-Racism Strategy.

"Other presentations include information about Centacare, Relationships Australia, and the Palliative Care Council of South Australia."

The gathering is on today and tomorrow at the Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel, South Terrace.

Minister Gago will host a welcome dinner for all delegates this evening.

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
16 Nov 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016