Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion

Special Olympics South Australia recognises hard work and commitment


Minister for Disabilities Tony Piccolo has congratulated this year's winners of the annual Special Olympics South Australia (SOSA) awards.
The ceremony was held last night with athletes, coaches and volunteers recognised for their commitment and outstanding effort over the past 12 months in their respective fields. Mr Piccolo presented the awards for best male and female athletes whose dedication, bravery and persistence will no doubt inspire a new generation of athletes to follow their example and achieve great things against the odds.
"Behind every one of these awards there is an inspiring story of courage, commitment and an unflinching desire to live life to the fullest," Mr Piccolo said.
"Each and every participant, the coaches and volunteers should all be immensely proud of what they have achieved.
"The awards recognised both the achievements of the athletes and celebrated the contribution made by those who help organise the various competitions.
"By providing training and competition throughout the year, SOSA is helping people with an intellectual disability to maintain an active healthy lifestyle while they engage with the broader community."
Offering 14 different sports, more than 250 local sporting clubs across Australia participate in the various programs.
Athletes that represented South Australia in 2012 Trans-Tasman and National Junior Games were also recognised on the night.
Award recipients
Bill Bowden Encouragement Award - Lisa Niblett
Coach of the Year - Igor Negrão
Volunteer of the Year - Liz Kinross
Special Olympics Athlete of the Year - Nathan Balkwill
Junior Athlete of the Year - Charlie Wilkins
Female Athlete of the Year - Katie Williams
Male Athlete of the Year - Toby Sutherland

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
SA Department for Human Services
Last Updated:
05 Jul 2018
Printed on:
16 Nov 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016