Department of Human Services

Start of main content.

The Safe and Well diagram in plain text

The Safe and Well diagram shows 5 pillars standing on a large base and supporting a roof structure.

The roof structure

  • "Children are safe and well"

The 5 Pillars

  • Pillar 1: leadership and culture.
  • Pillar 2: client / family partnerships.
  • Pillar 3: risk management.
  • Pillar 4: monitoring and reporting.
  • Pillar 5: clinical practice.

These are the five key pillars of clinical governance.

The base: Foundational principles

United Nations Rights of the Child — Principles of the Convention on the Rights of the Child

  • Respect for the views of the child.
  • Right to life, survival and development
  • Best interests of the child
  • Non-discrimination.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander child placement principles

  • Identity
  • Prevention
  • Partnership
  • Placement
  • Participation
  • Connection.

Our healing approach—trauma-informed and culturally responsive practice and principles

  • Trustworthiness
  • Safety
  • Peer and Community Support
  • Collaboration
  • Empowerment and self-determination
  • Know yourself and learn.

Return to the diagram

Page last updated : 15 Feb 2023

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .[sm v5.5.6.6]