Youth awards and sponsorships

Young Achiever Awards

DHS is a proud sponsor of the following awards within the Young Achievers Awards SA.

Department of Human Services Aboriginal Achievement Award

Everybody has a story…Young Aboriginal people are using their stories and life experiences to build their community and encourage others to strive for their dreams. These passionate and dedicated young Aboriginal people make a real difference to our South Australian communities. The Department of Human Services Aboriginal Achievement Award acknowledges and congratulates their commitment to achieving excellence. The award recognises contributions to the Aboriginal and/or broader community, barriers overcome, leadership skills and cultural achievements.

Department of Human Services Pride Award

Whether it is through community leadership, pursuing inclusion in society, or outstanding achievements in their field, LGBTIQA+ young people make incredible contributions to South Australia. This award aims to shine the light on the accomplishments of young LGBTIQA+ South Australians who inspire the people around them and strive to make South Australia a better place. The Award recognises contributions to LGBTIQA+ communities and to society as a whole, including leadership and exceptional performance

Find out more Young Achiever Awards – SA

Youth Parliament

Youth Parliament is a unique opportunity for young people aged 15–25 to express their views, become community advocates and learn about South Australia’s parliamentary system.

The program runs from March to August every year and involves:

  • mentoring
  • a training weekend
  • a week-long camp
  • access to Parliament House.

Regional scholarships are available to support the costs of attending the training weekend (travel to and from Adelaide and accommodation) and the residential week (travel to and from Adelaide).

YMCA South Australia manages the program with the support of the Government of South Australia through DHS.

Find out more Contact YMCA SA

Page last updated 26 May 2023