Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES)

The Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES) aims to help organisations improve business practices and client services. It does this through:

  • a set of community service standards, and
  • a program of support.

ASES helps organisations identify a pathway to accreditation and the building blocks they need on specific topics.

Accreditation generates:

  • greater public confidence:
  • improved efficiencies and work processes
  • access to more funding opportunities and
  • a more stimulating workplace culture for staff who feel more empowered, involved and satisfied.

Accreditation benefits consumers, staff, board members, managers and funding bodies.

We pride ourselves on providing affordable internationally accredited quality improvement program options for you.

For non-government organisations seeking one-off grants or entering into multi-year funded service agreements, both the STARservice recognition and the Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES) accreditation program are suitable.

Unpacking the standards (4.40m)

New South Wales specialist homelessness services

If your organisation is a New South Wales specialist homelessness service, please consult your industry partner for additional ASES resources. See Homelessness NSW -  ASES

Contact us


About the ASES program

The Australian Service Excellence Standards program is available nationally to all non-government organisations of any size, type, and sector.

Accreditation Levels

Accreditation for the high levels of customer and professional services is available in three levels, STARService recognition, ASES Certificate level and ASES Award level.

How to start

Information sessions and/or a Community of Practice Workshops to help organisations understand the program and the processes required for ASES accreditation.

Achieving and maintaining accreditation

Information on achieving accreditation and tips on how to maintain it.


Summary of accreditation standards

Up to date standards may be able to assist you in the process of achieving accreditation.



To help you get started, we have pulled together a wide range of policy examples to support your organisation when working through the ASES STARservice Recognition, Certificate and Award Levels.


Page last updated 22 November 2023