Department of Human Services

ASES Development Process

A review of the Standards used to happen every five years. Now, the ASES team examines any changes to legislation, industry or departmental requirements on an ongoing basis. This approach ensures that the ASES program and standards are always relevant to the Community Services sector and up-to-date in a constantly changing environment.

As part of this continuous improvement journey, ASES is currently undergoing a review that will include talking to our valued assessors and participating organisations. The review process involves consultation with key stakeholders, focus groups and ASES external assessors to develop the key indicators and evidence required to meet new requirements. We will keep you informed as this proceeds.

Testing of new standards and requirements occurs via small focus groups and/or contact with participating organisations. The updated standards and outcome statements (PDF 1.9 MB) are now available for comment.

ASES incorporates feedback in the next iteration of the standards. The team distributes information to organisations transitioning to the new standards, outlining changes and the key additional elements to consider when gathering evidence for their assessment.

The transition and all other documentation is updated and the Community Services sector is notified en mass. Organisations that attend any of the ASES information sessions are also advised of new inclusions and the updated requirements for evidence.

If you would like to provide feedback or participate in any way, contact us via email.

Below are the steps for the ASES review and development process. A summary of the ASES review timelines (DOCX 17.2 KB) and Governance Structure (PDF 98.7 KB) are also available.

ASES review and development process

1.      Review of the current ASES framework - Dec 2018

  • The review looks at areas of: language; relevancy; accuracy; complexity and mapping of new legislation; industry standards; best practice guidelines; research and contemporary practices.
  • Feedback is sought from key stakeholders and participating organisations including experts in the South Australian Government and the New South Wales Communities and Justice department. Feedback is captured through interviews, surveys and documentation.

2.      Development of additional standards and Evidence Guides - Apr 2019

  • Based on research, feedback and mapping, the ASES team develops new standards, requirements and evidence guides.

3.      Development of programs and products to support ASES

  • Develop a comprehensive format and resources to support ASES.
  • Developing online support tools.
  • Redesign a new program of support for ASES.
  • Develop new promotional material.

4.      Streamline accreditation mechanisms

  • Liaise with strategic partnerships to streamline accreditation and seek either mutual recognition or adopt other key mechanisms to reduce administrative burden.

5.      Pilot - began Nov 2018 / ended Nov 2019

  • Integrate new standards, examples, and associated requirements into ASES.
  • Pilot new standards, associated requirements, and examples in evidence guides to determine applicability across the sector.
  • Evaluation of the standards to determine their degree of readability, comprehension, measurement is achievable and applicability for small/medium and large organisations.
  • Integrate feedback into draft of ASES.

6.      Approvals

Updated standards are approved by:

  • DHS Executive leadership
  • DHS Quality Assessors Panel

​7. Deployment of ASES

  • First phase of deployment and promotion
  • Transition plan for organisations self-assessing against the new version of ASES.

8. Accreditation with ISQua - now known as the International External Evaluation Association (IEEA)

  • Submit application for accreditation against the International Principles for Health Care (ISQua) - Sep 2020.
  • Receive international accreditation for ASES

9.  Official launch of new ASES standards

  • expected early in 2021.
Page last updated : 28 Jan 2021

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .[sm v5.5.6.6]