Department of Human Services

Australian Service Excellence Standards

If your organisation is a New South Wales specialist homelessness service, please consult your industry partner for additional ASES resources. See Homelessness NSW - Quality and ASES

The Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES) program is your community organisation’s road map to excellence. Check out the ASES Introduction Booklet. (PDF 683.0 KB)

This step-by-step program is specifically designed to develop the capacity of community organisations to strive towards continuous improvement in quality service delivery. Organisations complete self-assessments and an external assessment to achieve this internationally recognised accreditation that lasts for three years.

ASES is based on the following organisational principles:

  • customer and outcome focus
  • clear direction with accountability
  • continuous learning and innovation
  • valuing people and diversity
  • working collaboratively
  • sound governance
  • strong financial and contractual stewardship
  • data and knowledge management informs evidence-based decision making
  • social, environmental and ethical responsibility.

Accreditation benefits consumers, staff, board members, managers and funding bodies through greater public confidence, improved efficiencies and work processes, access to more funding opportunities and a more stimulating workplace culture for staff who feel more empowered, involved and satisfied.

Community Services conducts consultation and reviews legislation, industry and departmental requirements to update the standards every five years.

ASES is now a fully accredited program under ISQua (International Society for Quality in Health and Social Care) and is available to organisations throughout Australia.

ASES follows a strict code of ethics.

Please  complete and submit this form to register your interest in ASES.

Logo showing ASES's accreditation in The International Society for Quality in Health and Social Care (ISQua)

Page last updated : 19 Mar 2021

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .[sm v5.5.6.6]